Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Should I forget my hit before I start to learn how to swing

Go down 
+10
yrt
Lizardman
Right_sided_coach
Winston
Salty Dog
JohnBGLee
eiji
Duval_S
shorthitter
ChrisD
14 posters
AuthorMessage
ChrisD
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer
ChrisD

Should I forget my hit before I start to learn how to swing Empty
PostSubject: Should I forget my hit before I start to learn how to swing   Should I forget my hit before I start to learn how to swing I_icon_minitimeMon Feb 01, 2010 3:54 am

Hi pros,

I had started golfing and pick up the game thru self taught about a year and half ago.
With this I had many bad habits. Eg. Hitting the ball and not swinging it thru, don't setup properly. I had decided to stop golfing for a
period of around 6 mths to a year to forget all the bad habits.
Thereafter, I will go for coaching lessons.
Is this ideal?
Back to top Go down
shorthitter
Golf Professionals
Golf Professionals
shorthitter

PostSubject: Re: Should I forget my hit before I start to learn how to swing   Should I forget my hit before I start to learn how to swing I_icon_minitimeMon Feb 01, 2010 8:12 am

I doubt if your body will be able to "forget" your home made swing, but it is not impossible to tune it.

There would IMO be no need to lay off, just practice the new swing properely.

Good luck.
Back to top Go down
http://www.2telgolf.com
Duval_S
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer

PostSubject: Re: Should I forget my hit before I start to learn how to swing   Should I forget my hit before I start to learn how to swing I_icon_minitimeMon Feb 01, 2010 9:44 am