Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Who else thinks the 'Council Of Estate Agents' is a joke?

Go down 
+18
Master
S70B
MPA
sunny
Genesis
mizzy
Tituman
watermyforrest
DGman
shorthitter
pushslice
jimmychoo
Gray
Khorkar
golfool2009
mUAr_cHEe
motokah
UberGold
22 posters
Go to page : 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
AuthorMessage
UberGold
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer
UberGold

Who else thinks the 'Council Of Estate Agents' is a joke?  Empty
PostSubject: Who else thinks the 'Council Of Estate Agents' is a joke?    Who else thinks the 'Council Of Estate Agents' is a joke?  I_icon_minitimeWed Apr 06, 2011 1:52 am

Disclaimer:
I have been a practicing Realtor for the last 6 years (including this year, 4.5 years as a Director) and finally, I am moving out of the industry. This is a letter I penned in frustration after a deadbeat agent refused to return the Security Deposit of my client (tenant) at the end of the lease... it has been more than 6 months since he all about disappeared with my client's deposit paid at the beginning of the rental. Called the CEA and was told this was a 'civil case' and I would have to engage a lawyer to sue for the refund (Small Claims). WTF???

So, I wrote to the whole bunch of executives at the Council of Estate Agents, aimed at 'Protecting Consumer's Interest', and also to our dear Minister Mah Bow Tan... and actually got NO RESPONSE from them after 7 days!

Here is the letter (names of persons and corporations changed).

Dear Minister, Madam and Sir,

It is about time the Real Estate Industry in Singapore received a proper cleaning-up.

A very flattering headline once said about CEA:

"Singapore Launches Council For Estate Agencies To Protect Consumer Interests"

Or... Really?