Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Golf injury

Go down 
+6
enwee
dennischia
andrew-golf
neutralgolfer
cglim
Gymrat76
10 posters
AuthorMessage
Gymrat76
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer

Golf injury Empty
PostSubject: Golf injury   Golf injury I_icon_minitimeThu Feb 20, 2014 4:24 pm

Since I started playing golf, I've had this sharp pain on my left side a couple of inches below the armpit.. its a sharp pain that I experience when my arm is at certain angles or when I breath in deeply and occassionaly the pain migrates to the back of my lower left shoulder. Read that its relatively common among golfers though the remedies vary and its called the serratus anterior muscle. Anyone with similar pain before can share how you managed to get rid of the pain? Its been bothering me for 2+ weeks now and its always worse after the range (yes, I know I need to rest the muscle)  Very Happy

Thanks!
Back to top Go down
cglim
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer
cglim

Golf injury Empty
PostSubject: Re: Golf injury   Golf injury I_icon_minitimeThu Feb 20, 2014 4:37 pm

I had a strained intercostal muscles last year. Its the muscles under the rib cage. I most likely got it by not stretching/warming up and swinging too hard. There is no treatment aside from rest (1 month++) and occasional electric stimulation. I would suggest to consult a sports physiotherapist if there's any rehab you can do to treat your condition or manage the pain. Good luck.
Back to top Go down
neutralgolfer
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer
neutralgolfer

Golf injury Empty
PostSubject: Re: Golf injury   Golf injury I_icon_minitimeThu Feb 20, 2014 4:39 pm

If there is a muscle tear or injuries to veins, it might take up to 3-4 months to heal completely.
Back to top Go down
andrew-golf
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer