Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Got my irons - now which woods/hybrids/wedges and putter?

Go down 
+10
enwee
kennyky
goh.YF.52
angeldogleslie
Pizzaman
bkll
wbjia
yaozza07
schnell
milesandcoltrane
14 posters
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
milesandcoltrane
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer

Got my irons - now which woods/hybrids/wedges and putter? Empty
PostSubject: Got my irons - now which woods/hybrids/wedges and putter?   Got my irons - now which woods/hybrids/wedges and putter? I_icon_minitimeFri Nov 29, 2013 12:59 pm

Hi Guys

First post here at GR. Hello!

Total noob. 3 golf lessons in, only hit a few balls before that.

Bought a Titleist AP1 712 4-PW with NS Pro 950 GH Reg flex, based on my coach's recc.

Been hitting the driving ranges 2-3 times a week - 200/300 balls each time on top of lessons once a week. Slowly getting my swing dialled in but still not making good contact with the ball. Tend to hit fat or thin shots but managed to get ride of my slices/strong fades. 

Would really like to fill out my bag soon, so I can start practicing with the other clubs to get ready for playing on course.

With all the sales happening now, tempted to get all the rest of the clubs I need.

Should I get a driver or just get a 3 wood first? Do I need a 5 wood?

I can hit my 8,9 irons relatively consistently. PW not too bad as well. 7 iron I hit maybe 60% consistently. 6 iron maybe 50% consistent. 5 iron and 4 iron - a bit touch and go. Should I get 3, 4 and 5 hybrids?

Also would you have any recommendations on what brands/models to get? So many clubs out there not too sure which one.

I really like Titleist but their woods and hybrids seem less game improvement than say Cobra Bafflers / TM RBZs / Callaway X Hot etc.