Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Loft for Fairway Wood

Go down 
+4
DGman
jimmychoo
ghoonk
ironstarz
8 posters
AuthorMessage
ironstarz
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer
ironstarz

Loft for Fairway Wood Empty
PostSubject: Loft for Fairway Wood   Loft for Fairway Wood I_icon_minitimeTue Jul 06, 2010 10:49 pm

Can some kind soul explain how the loft for fairway wood differ?

I understand for Driver the faster a person swing , the lower the loft he shd take am i right ?

How about Fairway wood? How does a person determine which loft is needed for himself ?

Paiseh I am a noob so asking this question now
Back to top Go down
ghoonk
Honorary Landscaper
Honorary Landscaper

PostSubject: Re: Loft for Fairway Wood   Loft for Fairway Wood I_icon_minitimeTue Jul 06, 2010 11:43 pm

Personally, I think it is down to a matter of preference and distance gap between clubs

e.g. not everyone is comfortable playing a 13/13.5* tour spoon. For many, a 15* is easier to hit. Also, there are many people who play a 10.5* driver, and having a gap that goes from 10.5* to 13.5* might be a little pointless, esp if the distance gap is only between 280 yds and 240 yds. In my case, I play an 8.5* driver, and choose between a 13* tour spoon and a 15* 3w depending on the course I play. If I expect to be playing a course that has long and wide fairways, I will probably use the 13* tour spoon. If the course does not require me to play a long 2nd shot and I can hit the par 5s in 3 using a driver, 3i and 8i, then I usually just bring the 15* as a just-in-case.