Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Golf rules

Go down 
+5
NikeN
Slicer51
chien
golfool2009
9 posters
AuthorMessage
golfool2009
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer
golfool2009

Golf rules Empty
PostSubject: Golf rules   Golf rules I_icon_minitimeSat Jul 14, 2012 9:18 pm

I recently got the reading of the rules wrong and thought it'd be useful to gather some of the more common scenarios we come across into one post so if there's ever a question during a round, just come to golfrepublic.org and search for this. I'm no expert so please feel free to correct me. Here we go:

Hazard and OB

A ball is considered in the hazard when it lies within the hazard or when any part of it touches the hazard (remember, stakes and lines are themselves part of the hazard).

But for OB, the entire ball must be beyond the OB line....

Ball on cart path
Under the rule of golf 24-2b, a golfer is entitled to free relief from a cart path if the ball comes to rest upon the path or the golfer's swing or stance is inhibited by the path. A golfer's stance is deemed to be inhibited if any part of his foot comes in contact with the path.

After deciding that relief from the cart path is desired or necessary, the golfer must find the nearest point of relief that moves the ball no closer to the hole and mark that point with a tee.
The golfer is entitled to one club length of relief from that spot, which is usually marked with another tee. The golfer must drop the ball from shoulder height at any point in between those two tees as long as the ball is not being dropped in a hazard or onto the green.
A golfer may take this relief with no penalty.

http://www.randa.org/en/Playing-Golf/Quick-Guide-to-the-Rules/Relief-Situations-and-Procedures/Immovable-Obstructions-and-Abnormal-Ground-Conditions.aspx