Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Fairway Woods & non-7 Irons

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
syong
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer

Fairway Woods & non-7 Irons Empty
PostSubject: Fairway Woods & non-7 Irons   Fairway Woods & non-7 Irons I_icon_minitimeTue Mar 12, 2013 8:42 am

I'm a newbie at golf. So far, my most oft-used clubs are my Driver, Rescue, 7-Iron, PW, SW and Putter. Was wondering if there're any use for the other clubs?
Back to top Go down
Gofnut
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer

PostSubject: Re: Fairway Woods & non-7 Irons   Fairway Woods & non-7 Irons I_icon_minitimeTue Mar 12, 2013 9:09 am

Yes, the "other" clubs do come in useful. It all depends on the type of shot that I desire to make. E.g. for a low running chip, I may use the 7 or 8 iron and for a chip that needs to go high and land soft, then its the PW or SW or some other more lofted club. And as you get more consistent in your ball stricking that leads to more consistent distances, you will have higher confidence in the club that you use. E.g, for me, the PW is for a 100m shot, the 8 iron for 130m, the 6 iron for 150m and so forth, with my full swing.
Back to top Go down
pocketace
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer
pocketace

PostSubject: Re: Fairway Woods & non-7 Irons   Fairway Woods & non-7 Irons I_icon_minitimeTue Mar 12, 2013 9:13 am

Of course mate! Like adjusting air con vents...

Jokes aside...

If you hit your 7i 130m and your rescue 160m and your PW 90m

Then you approach a 115m par 3, what would you do?

That's where your 8i or even 9i comes to use... Wait a min... You don't have them in your bag...

It's ok for beginners to start with half set. Some even advise beginners to ditch the driver in favour of 3w or 4w