Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Beginner in golf, got a few questions.

Go down 
+2
Turbo
billcoke
6 posters
AuthorMessage
billcoke
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer

Beginner in golf, got a few questions. Empty
PostSubject: Beginner in golf, got a few questions.   Beginner in golf, got a few questions. I_icon_minitimeThu Sep 04, 2014 1:06 pm

Hi,

I'm a beginner in golf, got a few questions:

1. What is the minimum number of players to form a flight? can we have 1 or 2 players in a flight?

2. For overseas golf course like in Australia, do we need a handicap number to play on their course?

3. The golf course in Australia, are they open to public? or they are only available to reciprocal clubs' members with invitation cards from your local clubs?
Back to top Go down
Turbo
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer
Turbo

PostSubject: Re: Beginner in golf, got a few questions.   Beginner in golf, got a few questions. I_icon_minitimeThu Sep 04, 2014 1:16 pm

If you play at public course like MBGC, even if you are a lone player, you can still play. You prolly can join flight. Just go online and look for the available slot. But to join flight, better to have certain skill level. Unless the rest of the playing mates are equally green to the game, you might hold up the rest. For MBGC, you need a handicap. If not, pay $10 for a test swing license which is valid for a month.

You can alternatively game at Mandai Executive course which is a short 9-hole course (stand corrected). No need handicap.

Yes, those public courses in Down Under are open to the public if not they would not be called public course. But handicap may not be required as I don't remember them requesting me to produce a handicap card for verification.
Back to top Go down
Gofnut
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer