Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Do I need a Gap Wedge?

Go down 
+5
ughly
ghoonk
fribriz
ron81
Tiger Wu
9 posters
AuthorMessage
Tiger Wu
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer
Tiger Wu

Do I need a Gap Wedge? Empty
PostSubject: Do I need a Gap Wedge?   Do I need a Gap Wedge? I_icon_minitimeSat Jan 02, 2010 5:15 pm

Hi Guys,

My PW is 47 and SW is 56, which means that I have a 9 degree gap between them. It's a big gap What a Face Should I get a 50/52 Gap wedge? I understand that some will said just adjust the position of ball or choke down the PW to fill this distance gap. So, I am puzzled Question Question Question

If I do need a Gap Wedge, which one will be better? 50 or 52?

Please help! HELP Thanks cheers
Back to top Go down
ron81
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer
ron81

PostSubject: Re: Do I need a Gap Wedge?   Do I need a Gap Wedge? I_icon_minitimeSat Jan 02, 2010 5:23 pm

For me the 52° is the most useful club in my bag, work for anything below 100m to apron..

I think the degree for the wedge is very individual, some have 2 like me 52° n 58°, some goes for 3 pcs 52°,56°,60°..
Back to top Go down
fribriz
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer
fribriz

PostSubject: Re: Do I need a Gap Wedge?   Do I need a Gap Wedge? I_icon_minitimeSat Jan 02, 2010 6:04 pm

TW, the decision to use a Gap Wedge will be entirely yours. Below 100m, what shots can be played? To answer this would require an evaluation of the current shot conditions, lie of the ball, wind conditions, green conditions (fast, slow, pin position, level green, undulating green etc.) With this information, you can then assess what shot to play. Different players with similar ball position will also resort to different shots.