Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Newbie question on driver shaft length

Go down 
+7
Derek
willytan
jeffman88
Devvic
haragolfer
enwee
bellevue18
11 posters
AuthorMessage
bellevue18
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer
bellevue18

Newbie question on driver shaft length Empty
PostSubject: Newbie question on driver shaft length   Newbie question on driver shaft length I_icon_minitimeWed Dec 04, 2013 9:37 pm

Howdie

Newbie here and looking for a used or new driver to practise my 'fear' of long clubs.

I found that most drivers have a pretty long shaft in region of 46 inches, give or take. I am not young and have a slow swing speed and also quite short. I have tried a long driver and have problems getting the club head to strike the ball properly due to the length.

Question to the sifus here - will simply having the shaft cut an inch or even more by a fitter be perfectly fine, without affecting the club swing statistics, like its swing weight, or do I have to get a proper fit to also adjust the club head weight etc etc? Or should I just get the standard driver and practise long and hard till I can hit it properly? If getting a standard driver is the better option, then I am in the market for a 'forgiving' used driver to train with.

Cheers
Back to top Go down
enwee
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer
enwee

PostSubject: Re: Newbie question on driver shaft length   Newbie question on driver shaft length I_icon_minitimeWed Dec 04, 2013 9:40 pm

why don't u visit a fitter and see what they said? Length imho, does not affect distance, you go read tom wishon's myths on golf. You'll understand.
Back to top Go down
bellevue18
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer
bellevue18