Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Baseball grip

Go down 
+5
TigaWood
tronos
pushslice
Slicer51
Joshtay
9 posters
AuthorMessage
Joshtay
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer
Joshtay

Baseball grip Empty
PostSubject: Baseball grip   Baseball grip I_icon_minitimeMon Mar 12, 2012 1:31 am

Hi GRians,

I'm a beginner of a few months and I haven't seen much progress in any clubs other than wedges.

I've always found that my swing just wasn't generating enough power to allow me to hit the 8, 7, etcs.

Even if i contacted the ball, i still found issues with getting the balls lofted sufficiently.

Today I decided to try using the baseball grip for the first time. Just at the first swing I was amazed! My 8 flew with good loft all the way till 100! and i managed to replicate it quite successfully! Can anyone shed light what exactly happened? i dont know if i should change my grip or what exactly i'm messing up!
Back to top Go down
Slicer51
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer
Slicer51

Baseball grip Empty
PostSubject: Re: Baseball grip   Baseball grip I_icon_minitimeMon Mar 12, 2012 8:55 am

I understand a baseball grip gave you a easily "roll over" after you have impact the ball. what club are you using? unable to have a loft with your ball, usually it is the swing or not using an more forgiven club for beginner.

As always, seek your coach for advise and do not try to self learn
Back to top Go down
pushslice
Caddy
Caddy
pushslice

Baseball grip Empty
PostSubject: Re: Baseball grip   Baseball grip I_icon_minitimeMon Mar 12, 2012 9:24 am

Tried baseball grip for a few months when I was still starting out. It felt more powerful and easier to hit the balls. I think my right arm was able to dominate and "hit the ball" like a tennis player would hit a forehand.